The British Screenwriters’ Awards 2015 #LondonSWF


In it’s sophomore year, The British Screenwriters’ Awards once again opened it’s doors to the glitterati of the film & TV world. Putting screenwriters up front and centre and giving us a chance to cheer and thank those incredible minds that give us the films and shows we love.

Hosted by the glorious writer and comedienne Rhona Cameron who dazzled and entertained in equal amount, we belly laughed until late and then headed out to the Final Draft marquee for a drinks party!

The nominees and winners for 2015 were as follows:

Lifetime Achievement Award: Steven Moffat

For his outstanding contribution to British Screenwriting the Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Steven Moffat by his friend and collaborator Mark Gattis.

Outstanding New Talent in British Television Writing

WINNER:‘Not Safe for Work’ by DC Moore
‘Prey’ by Chris Lunt
‘Cyberbully’ by David Lobatto / Ben Chanan
‘Our World War’ by Joe Barton / Marco Crivellari

Outstanding Newcomer for British Feature Film Writing

‘71’ by Gregory Burke
WINNER: ‘The Falling’ by Carol Morley
‘Suite Francaise’ by Matt Charman / Saul Dibb
‘X+Y’ by James Graham

Best British TV Drama Writing

WINNER: ‘Humans’ by Joe Barton, Jonathan Brackley, Sam Vincent and Emily Ballou
‘The Missing’ by Harry Williams and Jack Williams
‘Call the Midwife’ by Heidi Thomas
‘Sherlock’ by Mark Gatiss and Steven Moffat

Best British Crime Writing

‘Peaky Blinders’ by Steven Knight
WINNER: ‘The Fall’ by Allan Cubitt
‘The Game’ by Toby Whithouse, Sarah Dollard and Debbie O’Malley
‘Broadchurch’ by Chris Chibnall

Best British Children’s Television

WINNER: ‘Wolfblood’ by Debbie Moon, Sophie Petzal, James Whitehouse and Hannah George, Catrin Clarke, Paul Mousley, Neil Jones and Lee Walters
‘Katie Morag’ by Sergio Casci, Martin McCardie, Stuart Hepburn, Linda Cameron
‘Harriet’s Army’ by Guy Burt
‘Eve’ by Emma Reeves, Andrew Yerlett, Joe Williams, Ann Marie Di Mambro, Vivien Adam and Kirstie Swain

AAA11427The Create50 Awards ‘Moments of Courage and Kindness’

BEST SCRIPT: ‘Psukhe’ by Vera Mark
GOLD AWARD: ‘Late Request’ by Phil Peel
SILVER AWARD: ‘As Lao Tzu Says’ by Alexis Howell-Jones

Best British Feature Film Writing

‘Ex Machina’ by Alex Garland
‘Far from the Madding Crowd’ by David Nicholls
WINNER: ‘Paddington’ by Paul King
‘Kajaki’ by Tom Williams

Screenwriting is an extraordinary process. The stuff that resonates, the stuff that inspires, the stuff that changes you writers make that up out of their heads. Writers give it form and structure, writers change and adapt the primordial goo that is story into a myriad of emotions. Then someone gives them notes and they re-write and make it better!

For writers It’s a hard slog and a rewarding one. For those not yet in possession of a shiny award, the hope that one day our efforts will be recognised and worth people’s time keeps us going. To have the recognition of our peers is perhaps the greatest pinnacle of respect. To give that edification to other is our privilege. Great writers, truly worthy, not all of the nominees went home with an award but they each took away our ardent admiration.


3 thoughts on “The British Screenwriters’ Awards 2015 #LondonSWF”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.