The 2014 Inaugural British Screenwriters’ Awards

Room: Tuke Hall
Time: Saturday 7:30pm

with Rhona Cameron

The 2014 Inaugural British Screenwriters’ Awards image

It’s about time someone put the originators and architects 0f great storytelling front and centre. And we are rising to that challenge.

This year at the London Screenwriters Festival we will run the very first British Screenwriters Awards, honouring outstanding writing from newcomers and established screenwriters in both film and television.

Hosted by screenwriter, writer and comedian Rhona Cameron, you can be sure it will be a star studded night to remember

The Nominations Are

Outstanding Newcomer for British Television Writing

  • ‘Murdered By My Boyfriend’ by Regina Moriarty (BBC3)
  • ‘Raised By Wolves’ by Caitlin Moran and Caroline Moran (Channel 4)
  • ‘In the Flesh’ by Dominic Mitchell, John Jackson and Fintan Ryan (BBC3)
  • ‘My Mad Fat Diary’ by Tom Bidwell, Rae Earl and Laura Neal (Channel 4)

Outstanding Newcomer for British Feature Film Writing

  • ‘Saving Mr Banks’ by Kelly Marcel and Sue Smith
  • ‘The Riot Club’ by Laura Wade
  • ‘Starred Up’ by Jonathan Asser
  • ‘Pride’ by Stephen Beresford

Best British TV Drama Writing

  • ‘The Honourable Woman’ by Hugo Blick (BBC2)
  • ‘Happy Valley’ by Sally Wainwright (BBC1)
  • ‘Sherlock’ by Stephen Moffatt and Mark Gatiss (BBC1)
  • ‘Utopia’ by Dennis Kelly (Channel 4)

Best British Feature Film Writing

  • ‘The Selfish Giant’ by Clio Barnard
  • ‘Philomena’ by Jeff Pope and Steve Coogan
  • ‘Locke’ by Steven Knight
  • ‘The Double’ by Richard Ayaode and Avi Korine

Appearing in this session

Rhona Cameron

Rhona Cameron – Writer and performer

One of the best stand up comedians in the UK. In 1992 Rhona won Channel 4’s ‘So You Think You’re Funny’ award
Rhona Cameron