The British Screenwriters’ Awards 2017

This year or the fourth time the writing community gathered together to celebrate the best and brightest among us and laud our craft, without which not much good film or TV would exist at all.

This night is ours, it’s our time to cheer great writing and laugh together at the blood sweat and tears that goes into creating it, a torturous, gruelling, and delightful, rewarding, fulfilling process that only someone else who’s attempted it can even begin to comprehend. It’s a weird thing that we do but together in our weirdness we find ourselves at home.

Hosted by screenwriter and comedian Deborah Frances-White who liberally entertained us with her Hollywood war stories and long path to breakthrough and a fine night was had by all.

I suppose in the forth year the event can no long be called a fledgling awards, but in terms of changing the zeitgeist of writers, we’re really just beginning. As we continue to edify great work we empower and inspire new work and new writers to share the magic inside them through the medium of screen.

This year is the second year of the, the ‘Fucking Awesome Award’ for incredible achievement in writing and outstanding contribution to the industry. Created last year for writer/director Simon Fitzmaurice who after becoming paralysed with Motor Neuron Disease (ALS) used only the gaze of his eyes to write and direct his first feature. The accolade this year continues and goes to an equally stellar writer who’s incredible works have made him a household name and inspired devotion across the seven continents.

The 2017 Fucking Awesome Award is given to George R R Martin.

As no dragons were available a proxy collected the award on George’s behalf and delivered his heartfelt speech. The crystal trophy will be winging it’s way to him shortly by raven and we are assured by Chris Jones that it will, at a push, definitely kill a white walker.

Outstanding Newcomer for British Feature Film Writing

  • 100 Streets by Leon Butler
  • Eddie The Eagle by Sean Macaulay
  • WINNER: The Girl with all the Gifts by Mike Carey
  • The Pass by John Donnelly
  • Prevenge by Alice Lowe
  • Under The Shadow by Babak Anvari

Best British Children’s Television

  • The Amazing World of Gumball by the writing team
  • Class Dismissed by the writing team
  • Counterfeit Cat by the writing team
  • Eve by the writing team
  • WINNER: The Worst Witch by the writing team

Outstanding Newcomer for British Television Writing     

  • Apple Tree Yard by Amanda Coe and Louise Doughty
  • Damilola, Our Beloved Boy by Levi David Addai
  • WINNER: Fleabag by Phoebe Waller-Bridge
  • The Hollow Crown by Ben Power
  • NW by Rachel Bennette (Based on novel by Zadie Smith)

Best British TV Drama Writing

  • WINNER: Three Girls by Nicole Taylor
  • The Crown by Peter Morgan
  • Little Boy Blue by Jeff Pope
  • The Moorside by Neil McKay
  • National Treasure by Jack Thorne

Best Crime Writing on Television (Series/Single Drama)    

  • Broadchurch by Chris Chibnall
  • Born to Kill by Kate Ashfield, Tracey Malone and Kate Gartside
  • Broken by Jimmy McGovern, Shaun Duggan, Colette Kane and Nick Leather
  • WINNER: Line of Duty by Jed Mercurio
  • The Missing by Harry Williams and Jack Williams
  • Unforgotten by Chris Lang

Best Comedy Writing on Television

  • Camping by Julia Davis
  • This Country by Charlie Cooper and Daisy May Cooper
  • WINNER: The Durrells by Simon Nye and Gerald Durrell
  • Flowers by Will Sharpe
  • People Just Do Nothing by Asim Chaudhry, Steve Stamp and Allan Mustafa
  • Upstart Crow by Ben Elton

Best British Feature Film Writing

  • Absolutely Fabulous: The Movie by Jennifer Saunders
  • American Honey by Andrea Arnold
  • Free Fire by Amy Jump and Ben Wheatley
  • T2 by John Hodge (Based on the novel by Irvine Welsh)
  • WINNER: A United Kingdom by Guy Hibbert (Based on the novel by Susan Williams)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.